Page 1 of 1

USING INT2 on 24V input

Posted: Sat Feb 15, 2020 8:02 am
by Adolfito121
Hello everyone.

I'm working on a project involving a Controllino MEGA and I've read that there are more than 2 interrupts available:
https://www.controllino.biz/knowledge-base/interrupts/
The Arduino Uno has 2 and the Mega has 6 external interrupt pins available:

Arduino Uno/Controllino MINI/INT.x interrupt: 2/IN0/INT.0 – 3/IN1/INT.1
Arduino Mega/Controllino MAXI,MEGA/INT.x interrupt: 2/D0/INT.0 – 3/D1/INT.1 – 18/IN0/INT.5 – 19/IN1/INT.4 – 20/SDA/INT.3 – 21/SCL/INT.2
Image

I've tried to wire my 24V sensors directly on the pins D20, or D21 but they are in the OUTPUT side of the board (and when I activate the sensors there is no led on the board indicating that the sensor triggering has been detected).

Is there any way that allows me to use a third interrupt with a 24V sensor with a Controllino MEGA board?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Greets from Barcelona

Re: USING INT2 on 24V input

Posted: Mon Feb 17, 2020 3:50 pm
by Jarda
Hello,
yes, MEGA has 6 interrupt pins, but for pins corresponding with outputs it is not possible to access them from outputs screw terminals, because these are outputs !
If you want to use for example /D0/INT.0 you have to use pinheader X1 where the corresponding PE4 is, to access directly the processor pin. Please note, that the pinheader is 5V only so you have to use for example divider from your 24V. And you have to properly configure this pin as input in your FW application.
Please think twice before connecting the pinheader ;-)

Regards
Jarda

Re: USING INT2 on 24V input

Posted: Wed Feb 26, 2020 12:58 pm
by Adolfito121
Thanks a lot for your answer!

It's a pity that we can not use them directly with a 24V logic, but I do really appreciate that you take the time to respond.

Greets from Barcelona