Page 1 of 1

How to totally reset a C. Mega?

Posted: Sat Jan 11, 2020 3:50 pm
by miko-edv
Hi,

we bought 3 Controllino Mega about mid November.

Now, as the project is working in the test environment and the machine #1 gets shipped, the preparations for #2 are on.
You can imagine my astonishement, when the 3rd Controllino not only gets a different COM-port on the same PC (the other 2 get Com6, this wants to be called as Com8), but also refuses to get _any_ sketches uploaded - not even blink.ino can be transferred ...

The serial monitor (shift-ctrl-m) can attach, but gets no output - no wonder as the Controllino is still virginal.

My thought is that it is somewhere with a damaged loader module, so I want to reload ist.
How can this be done?

Greets
Michael

Re: How to totally reset a C. Mega?

Posted: Mon Mar 09, 2020 12:22 pm
by Lukas
Hi,

to be honest I am more surprised that the first two MEGAs use the same COM port number.
Because typically each new device is assigned with a new COM port number. To be precise - this may be configured in the operating system settings - if a new device with the same PID/VID gets the same or a new COM port number.

I have published some tutorial how to upload a bootloader to MINI. It is not prepared for MAXI and MEGA yet ...

Please check how it is recognized by the operating system (Device Manager in Windows). As Arduino Mega?

Thanks,
Lukas

Re: How to totally reset a C. Mega?

Posted: Mon Mar 09, 2020 5:15 pm
by miko-edv
Hi,

I must admit, I totally forgot this topic - I have sent the Controllino back and received another one, which is working correctly.
But you're right - the double usage of the same COM port is a bit strange; from another PC with meanwhile dozens of USB-serial-devices I'm used to growing COM port numbers, the counter there has nearly reached the 50 ...